Montana Flag Montana

Federally Recognized Tribes

The following is a list of Federally Recognized Tribes with headquarters in Montana. The list may also include tribes or groups that are recognized by the state, when the state has established such authority. This acknowledges their status within the state, but does not guarantee funding from the state or the federal government. State-recognized Indian tribes are not federally recognized; however, federally recognized tribes may also be state-recognized. Federal recognition means that the tribe or group is eligible for funding and services from the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA). There are currently 577 federally recognized tribes.

Click on a list entry to find contact information for that tribe.

Tribe City Representative
Assiniboine and Gros Ventre Tribes Harlem Mark L. Azure
Assiniboine and Sioux Poplar Floyd Azure
Blackfeet Browning Harry Barnes
Chippewa-Cree Box Elder Kenneth St. Marks
Confederated Salish Pablo Vernon Finley
Crow Crow Agency Darrin Old Coyote
Northern Cheyenne Lame Deer Lawrence Jace Killsback

Sign In

Please enter your user name and password or your library card number.